Our Leadership

While Jesus Christ is the head of the Church, we also elect leaders to carry out the Mission and Vision of the church. The General Assembly meets Annually and is the highest authority of the Church. The Executive Council meets biannually between the annual General Assembly.


Rev. Lallienvel ( Lal) Pakhuongte is the 5th EFCI President and took up his office in April 2016. Lal had served as the Coordinator for the Theological Extension Education Course, and was the Vice President from 2006-2016. His responsibilities as the President include General Administration (National and International), Establishment and Development Department, (Relief, Community Care Ministry India, Buildings), and is the Editor in Chief of the Denomination’s monthly organ, Khawnvar Magazine.


Rev. Dr. J. Huoplien Neitham is the Moderator of the EFCI and his current term is from 2018-2020.

EFCI Vice President & Secretaries

The Vice President and departmental Secretaries, who are also elected, assist the President in the various ministries of the EFCI. Together with the President they form the EFCI Executive Committee.

Rev. Lalbiektluong (Vice President)

Rev. Biektluong is the Vice President of the EFCI. He had served many years as a Presbytery Superintendent in several Presbyteries, and also was the 4th EFCI President from 2012-2016. Rev. Lalbiektluong is the Secretary in the Executive Committee and also holds the responsibilities as Secretary of the Department of Finance and Accounts, and National Workers’ Sponsorship (Under Establishment and Development Dept).

Rev. C. Kawldinglien Joute (Secretary)

Rev. Kawla is Secretary for the Information and Publication Department, and Statistics. Rev. Kawla had served earlier as a Presbytery Superintendent and the Missions Secretary and Christian Education at the General Headquarters.

Rev. G. B. Niropui Joute (Secretary)

Rev. GB is the Secretary for Missions, Youth (Kristien Thalai Pawl), and the Music Department. Previously he held the post of Mizoram Regional Secretary in Aizawl.

Rev. Simon L Darngawn (Secretary)

Rev. Simon is the Secretary of the Christian Education Department (Sunday School, Seminary, School, Seminar & Training) and the Women Department. Prior to he has served as a Presbytery Superintendent and Secretary for Missions.

Rev. Lalrotluong Darngawn (Secretary)

Rev. Tluonga is the Regional Secretary for Mizoram, and also the Evangelism Secretary. His posting is in Aizawl, Mizoram. Earlier he served as the Presbytery Superintendent of several Presbyteries with the last being the Kolasib Presbytery. 


In the Presbyteries we have the Presbytery Superintendents and Standing Committee members from the various Local Churches within each Presbytery.

Past Presidents (Retired)

Rev. Dr. Lalthankhum Sinate (late), the then Vice President of Partnership Mission Society, simultaneously was the first EFCI President from 1974-78 before a full-time president was found.

Rev. Dr. Ruolneikhum Pakhuongte, the 2nd and first full-time president, faithfully served in this position for 27 consecutive years between 1979 and 2006. He was awarded the title EFCI President Emeritus. The EFCI General Headquarters was relocated from Sielmat, Manipur to the city of Shillong, Meghalaya in northeast India in 1979 under his leadership. The President, Vice President, and the Secretaries reside in Shillong.

Rev. Dr. J. Huoplien Neitham the 3rd EFCI President served in this position from 2006-2012. Prior to this role, he had faithfully served as a Secretary from 1979-2006 at the General Headquarters and is currently serving a second term as the Moderator.